October Synchroblog – Link Compilation

12 Oct

Independence. Success. Upward Mobility. Security. Comfort. In subtle and direct ways, many of us have been sent a message by the world (and sometimes by the faith systems we have been part of) that life is about moving up–away from pain and suffering and toward comfort, stability, and put-togetherness. This kind of living is much different than the kind of life Jesus calls us to in the gospels. Jesus consistently modeled going down into the low and messy places of people’s experiences–intersecting with the lepers, the lonely, the outcasts, the marginalized. He calls us to a life of humility, love, and interdependence.

This month’s synchroblog will explore the idea of downward mobility and other themes in Kathy Escobar’s book, Down We Go, however it is not required reading and this is not a book review synchroblog. Where do you see Jesus calling you downward? What does it mean to you? How is your faith being stretched and challenged on the journey down? What is hard about a downwardly mobile life? What’s satisfying? Do you find yourself bitter sometimes? Are there paradoxes to be explored?

Without further adieu, here are the links to this month’s synchroblog. I know there is some meaty writing in here and I look forward to reading it!

11 Responses to “October Synchroblog – Link Compilation”

  1. layton1000 October 12, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Sonja, I misunderstood the process because I think it is different than it was in September. In September there were three steps: topic announced, a “collection post” where you left your links, made a few days before the due date, and then the final post with all the links. So I have an idea but have not written it up yet. I was quite surprised, actually, to see this post made as I was waiting for that second step. 🙂

    Would it be possible to add my link, if I get it written by tonight? I understand completely, if it’s not, but thought I would ask.

    • Sonja October 12, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

      Hi Layton … That three step process still happened here. If you look back in the FB group there was an announcement/event that was sent out with that “collection” post and all was as you have described. I was (admittedly) late sending out a reminder to everyone and didn’t get it out til yesterday and that was my bad. All of that is just to reassure you that nothing really changed. OTOH … I will be more than happy to add your link later today or tonight, whenever you get it ready. There is usually a late day update with additions. No worries there 🙂

      • Marta Layton October 12, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

        Thanks for clarifying. I crashed last night after thirty-six hours straight of no sleep, around 8 PM. So I guess I missed your other post. Hope I didn’t sound like I was accusing you!

        My post:

        Name: Marta Layton
        Post title: Down the Up Staircase
        URL: http://fidesquaerens.dreamwidth.org/12417.html

      • Sonja October 12, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

        No worries at all. Sleep deprivation is a terrible thing 😦 I did not feel accused in any way, but I wanted you to be reassured that all was well and there may have been some missing pixels somewhere. As you can see you are not last 🙂

  2. Ant Writes October 13, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    The topic this month seemed to have some of the best blog posts so far! Everyone wrote superb bog posts. Great work everyone!

  3. Tammy Carter October 14, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Sonja,
    Can you, Liz and Kathy take a look at my last comment? I got a really bad “feel” about it and wanted to see what you guys think. I’ll probably erase, but let me know.
    Thanks.
    Tammy

    • Sonja October 14, 2011 at 12:29 am #

      Hi Tammy,

      I went to the blog that was linked in your comment. It seems to be on the up and up, although it does seem to be pretty heavily Muslim and it’s written in Indonesian, so it has to be translated. I don’t know what about the comment is making you uncomfortable so I can’t speak to that, but I can say that it’s not spam. If it were on my blog, I would leave it and I might try to engage her in conversation. But that’s me and you might not be comfortable with that at all. So you do what you think is best, and no one will look sideways at you 😉

      • Tammy Carter October 15, 2011 at 4:08 am #

        Hey Sonja, I understand where you are coming from. And, I almost engaged because I feel that she was implying that “Down we go” was leading people to hell. I don’t know why she thought…maybe discerned that, but it was interesting. MAYBE it could’ve led to great conversation…another voice. But, I’ve been so unbelievably misunderstood by some of my writing, responses and intentions that I just didn’t have the energy to go there. Rest assured it DID lead me to pray extra protection over Kathy and a plea to God that anything of the sort would be diverted. Satan’s subtle ways are always about hurting the Kingdom and dividing God’s Children. God bless and thank you for your insight.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Slumming it for Jesus - October 13, 2011

    […] This was written for the October 2011 synchroblog. […]

  2. October Synchroblog – Links to Enjoy « Godspace - October 13, 2011

    […] yesterday that my afternoon post was my contribution to a synchroblog which explores the idea of downward mobility , themes covered in f Kathy Escobar’s recent book Down We Go.  Jesus consistently modeled […]

  3. October Synchroblog – Links to Enjoy « Transformational thoughts…. - October 17, 2011

    […] yesterday that my afternoon post was my contribution to a synchroblog which explores the idea ofdownward mobility , themes covered in f Kathy Escobar’s recent book Down We Go.  Jesus consistently modeled […]

Leave a comment