What I Appreciate About [Other Religions] – March 2015 Synchroblog

6 Mar

religionAs humans, we often struggle with an “us vs. them” mentality. We like people who are like us, and tend to despise and look down upon people who are not like us. While this is true in sports, business, and politics, it is also sadly true in race and religion. While we are learning to overcome the “us vs. them” mentality in race relationship, it is still quite common among religions.

While we can all be strongly committed to our particular faiths and practice, it is helpful to remember that people of other religions are not the enemy. Paul writes in Ephesians 6 that our “struggle is not against flesh and blood,” and this is true even when the flesh and blood of another practices a different religion.

So in this synchroblog, I want to invite each of us to write about some things we appreciate about another religion. I want you to pick a religion, like Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, or even Atheism (though it’s not exactly a religion), and write about the things you appreciate about that religion, or the people who practice that religion.

Your post could take a variety of approaches on this topic. You could relate a story about an interaction you had with someone from that other religion, or you could talk about some of the religious beliefs and practices of that other religion and how Christianity could become better by adopting these other beliefs and practices. The goal is to recognize that Christianity can learn and benefit from people of other religions.

Publish your posts by March 17 and include a link to your post in the comment section below. The full link list will get published on March 18.

21 Responses to “What I Appreciate About [Other Religions] – March 2015 Synchroblog”

  1. Mark Votava March 11, 2015 at 10:52 pm #

    Here is my post for March- How Christianity Can Learn From Buddhism. http://markvotava.com/2015/03/12/how-christianity-can-learn-from-buddhism/

  2. justinsteckbauer March 12, 2015 at 11:47 am #

    Christianity and other Religions: Many roads or exclusive path?http://lifestyleofpeace.blogspot.com/2015/03/christianity-and-other-religions-many.html

    • Lisa March 17, 2015 at 11:55 pm #

      Nicely done and said. Amen. I really had a hard time with this topic this month. i was not sure how to tackle it. I questioned why on earth are we even discussing this. My mind has been all over the place on this. I have a hard time appreciating other thoughts and beliefs when they do not align to Jesus as my Lord and Savior. I appreciate your wisdom and understanding on this topic. Thank You!!!

  3. Glenn Hager March 16, 2015 at 11:45 am #

    Here’s my post:

    The Thing About Labels

      • Lisa March 18, 2015 at 12:45 am #

        Clara I really appreciate your post. I learned so much from just now. Thank You!!!! Knowing history helps us not be so afraid of other faiths. I didn’t write this time around because I knew I needed to do more research before I say anything. But honestly. I often times say – I don’t really care enough to study other religions. Now I have a bit and I considered other ideas. But I never really dug deep. Your post encourages me to gain more wisdom so that I can love better. Great Post Clara. Thank You!!!

    • Lisa March 18, 2015 at 12:33 am #

      Your canning analogy makes lots of sense. People are too complex to fit in a temporary suit. Our motives behind our beliefs and actions can’t all be the same and can’t all be right. Glenn your post challenges me to pay more attention to why I do what I do. I believe that there is one God and Jesus is the only way to heaven. There is a spiritual world in war. Just about everything I do is centered around who I believe I am. I believe only the Bible can help me with that. I call myself a Christian and I associate with Christians because we can encourage one another in the same beliefs. I have basically categorized myself and separated myself from anything and anyone that does not have what I call truth. I label myself and I’m o.k. with that. Glenn thanks for your post and I’ll probably read it a few more times since I have such a strong internal reaction to it. Its great when writers like you provoke one to think deeper. I didn’t write for this topic this month. I felt like I didn’t have enough words to write what I think and know. I’m always praying for more wisdom. And so I hit reply under your post and write on and on.

      • Lisa March 18, 2015 at 12:36 am #

        my comment above was in regards to Glen’s post. Not sure how it ended up under the wrong person. Soryy

  4. Stuart Delony March 16, 2015 at 7:40 pm #

    I love Atheists!
    http://stuartdelony.com/2015/03/17/i-love-atheists/

  5. brambonius March 17, 2015 at 4:31 pm #

    Some more controversy probably: “What can Christians learn from neo-pagans and ‘magickal’ traditions?”

    What can Christians learn from neo-pagans and ‘magickal’ traditions?

  6. mictori March 17, 2015 at 4:37 pm #

    Here is mine- Buddhism Reshaped My Easter: http://michelletorigian.com/2015/03/17/buddhism-reshaped-my-easter/

  7. Loveday March 17, 2015 at 8:45 pm #

    What I don’t Appreciate About Your Religion….
    http://visionhub.org/what-i-dont-appreciate-about-your-religion.html

  8. Pastor FedEx March 17, 2015 at 11:50 pm #

    Running a little late tonight, whole family has been sick with the flu. http://urbanpresence.blogspot.com/2015/03/3-things-christians-can-learn-from.html

  9. kathyescobar March 18, 2015 at 12:29 am #

    mine will be up first thing in the morning, but here’s the link:

    kathy escobar

    http://kathyescobar.com/2015/03/17/why-i-love-interfaith-conversations/

    thanks! i was bummed to miss last month and look forward to reading these.

  10. Dr. Samuel Mahaffy (@samuelmahaffy) March 18, 2015 at 11:36 am #

    I find deep meaning for the ‘inter-faith’ conversation in the words of the Gospel: “My house shall be a house of prayer for all people.” The more I study the sacred texts of the great spiritual traditions, the more I am convinced that they are treasures to share. My post on this topic is at http://samuelmahaffy.com/2015/02/house-shall-house-prayer-people/.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christianity and other Religions: Many roads or exclusive path? | Liberty Community Online - March 12, 2015

    […] March 2015 Synchroblog. “What do you appreciate about other religions? […]

  2. What can evangelicals learn from neo-pagans and ‘magickal’ traditions? | Brambonius' blog in english - March 17, 2015

    […] definitely answer the question with ‘yes’, and for my own post (which is also part of the March 2015 Synchroblog – What I Appreciate About [Other Religions] I will broaden it a bit “What can evangelicals learn […]

  3. What I Don't Appreciate About Your Religion!! - VisionHub : VisionHub - March 17, 2015

    […] This post – What I Don’t Appreciate About Your Religion!! is written as part of the March 2015 SynchroBlog: “What I Appreciate About [Other Religions]” […]

  4. why i love inter-faith conversations. | kathy escobar. - March 18, 2015

    […] This month’s Synchroblog is centered on what we appreciate about other religions. You can see the link list of other bloggers writing on this topic at the bottom of this […]

  5. March 2015 Link List | synchroblog - March 18, 2015

    […] Here is the list of links for those who contributed to the March 2015 Synchroblog: What I Appreciate about [Other Religions]. […]

Leave a comment